Some people think that students should be required to do unpaid community service as a part of their school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people emphasise that voluntary work ought to be a mandatory component of the high school curriculum. I completely agree with this opinion because it presents students with the opportunity to inculcate a deep sense of civic responsibility and also provides a conducive environment so that they can foster transferable skills. To commence with, unpaid public service would be a golden opportunity for high school students to develop a keen sense of social responsibility and awareness. By devoting their time and effort to addressing the needs of the local community, students can develop a profound understanding of challenges faced by marginalized people, thus inculcating a sense of responsible citizenship. For example, a pupil engaging in a food bank or soup kitchen programme may obtain valuable insight into the issue of food insecurity and may turn into a passionate advocate for policy changes that deal with this pressing issue. Moreover, students can acquire essential life skills through unpaid community service. Taking part in voluntary programmes, such as charity work, community cleanup programmes or voluntary sports coaching for youngsters, pupils can actively contribute to their societies, thereby gaining hands-on experiences. Through these experiences, they can hone their communication skills, problem-solving abilities, and team spirit. For instance, a student who volunteers at a community food bank may learn how to manage time and resources, closely collaborate with others, and empathize with vulnerable populations. Besides, the skills students attain through free public service enrich their resumes, demonstrating their commitment to noble causes and their ability to work cooperatively with others. To conclude, I believe that unpaid community service should be obligatory for high school students because it instils a sense of social responsibility and helps young students gain social skills