What are the advantages and disadvantages of maternity leave? Which side do you feel outweighs the other?

The role of the mother in establishing any family is undeniable. However, nowadays due to the financial pressures on many families, both parents might have full-time jobs. Thus, the mothers spend less time with their offspring, so the officials have devised a law that allows them to have maternity leave for a certain period. In my perspective, it is a necessary step in our world to keep the rights of women in having a decent career path. We will discuss the pros and cons of such a decision. As a starting point, previously, many dual-income families have been left with no option but to quit one partner of his or her occupation when they are expecting a baby. Hence, many women sacrifice their careers progressions in order to set up their own families. Consequently, the workforce has lost a considerable proportion of many precious expertises. As a result, many economies have suffered from that drain in the efficient and qualified employees. So, maternity leave seems the best possible solution to encourage more females to live their own personal lives and pursuing their careers advancing as well. Conversely, many corporates managers claim that this leave for women consume a lot of the company's resources because many women will be absent for at least two years in every pregnancy period. They argue that the returned mother will need to coach and direct again to be fully prepared to resume her duties. As a consequence, research shows that many companies avoid recruiting females who will possibly be pregnant soon. To conclude, the mothers had to make huge efforts to raise up their children. So, the government and the private sector have to protect and aid them by implementing this vacation for them during these vulnerable times in their labours and after that.