In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to improve a higher tax on this kind of food.

A surge in diseases caused by consumption of street eatables in citizens of few nations is noticed. As a consequence, it was suggested that taxation should be increased on this type of harmful essential commodities. This solution contributes to influencing the food choice of the middle-class citizens which causes a lot of ruckus in society. To recommend a proper solution to this problem, both views will be considered in the essay. One of the first problems of this suggestion is that most consumers of this roadside cuisine are from the poor and middle classes. Secondly, it is not ethical for the authorities to make laws that constrict the basic needs of a person. To illustrate this, a middle-class worker earns very little enough to fulfil his primary needs. Hiked instant food prices could push people to poverty. In this view, the decision to hike the prices of certain dishes is clearly a bad practice. The real problem that needs to be considered is the overall health of the population. While some still argue that these eatables offered by some restaurants and outlets are bad for the individual health of a person, the administration can draft laws that pertain to the improvement of the nutritional quality of these restaurants. To give a clear example, there exist some cuisine options where the quality of cuisine cannot be improved due to various other reasons. However, the regime can initiate awareness programs. As a result, more people would opt for healthy nutrition. In conclusion, higher excise on primary commodities beats the stomaches of the poor. Hence, the recommendation should be nullified. Instead, awareness programs should be initiated that in turn motivate humankind to choose nutrition over taste.