There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the field of education has turned into an area of immense pressure. Consequently, many think that non-academic subjects should be eliminated from the school curriculum so that students can be more focused on academics. In my opinion, even though academic training is important, extracurricular activities also play a crucial role in the development of a child and hence should be added to the school syllabus. It has been argued that children must not be taught non-academic subjects as it lessens concentration in studies among them. Moreover, these people also contend that when these little ones indulge in other tasks such as athletics or cookery, they find it more interesting than other academic subjects. For instance, a survey conducted in Australia reveals that 60% of children who are active in sports do not attend regular classes in educational institutions which is a precarious situation considering future prospects. Therefore, it is undeniable that activities outside studies can exacerbate a student's academic journey. On the contrary, extracurricular activities are vital to be taught in school because academic background alone may not help the child to grow physically or mentally. Furthermore, a pupil who is involved in games or sports enhances his or her physical as well as mental strength. For example, certain schools in India are designated as sports schools in which physical education has paramount importance; these children are strong both physically and mentally which makes them represent the country at international levels. Thus, it is advisable to teach non-academic subjects at school to build a powerful and healthy offspring. To conclude, it has become increasingly common to impose unnecessary pressure on kids of younger age. While non-academic subjects may divert attention towards studies, these are extremely beneficial to promote the mental and physical well-being of the young generation. From my perspective, schools must include physical education and other activities such as cookery or drawing as part of their curriculum.