Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Historical buildings are the asset of a nation and so governments try to preserve such buildings. However, many people consider them a hindrance to prosperity and want them to be demolished. Nevertheless, they must be conserved as they are a part of heritage and commemorate crucial past events happened there. Also, these ancient monuments are actually a way to prosperity and do not hinder it. To start with, historical buildings have been associated with the heritage of a nation. This is because they are mostly related to a particular past event. Therefore, such buildings help to aware the future generation about the history; about which nowadays they are reluctant to attain any knowledge. For example, Minar-e-Pakistan at Iqbal park in Lahore commemorates the day of Pakistan resolution on which foundation for new homeland was laid down by Muslims, people still go there with their children and tell them about the importance of the day. Hence, these historical architects keep the history alive. However, history has never been an obstacle in the way to progress. In fact, it is a source of prosperity. As of, old monuments attract the attention of tourists because of their antique designs and background. Therefore, they boost the economy of a country. In addition, to make them more eye catching, authorities mostly tend to construct some new exquisite sites like parks and hotels around such monuments so that more people pay a visit there. To illustrate, Taj Mahal in India has always been the place of tourists attraction and had never failed to uplift the economy of the country and construction of a five star hotel has added to the economy as myriad of tourists stay there during their tour. Hence, they play a great role in financially strengthening a country. In conclusion, historical architect must be reserved and renovated in order to revive the history among the young generation. Also, they have always been a booster of economy by the way of tourism not an obstacle.