Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

There is no doubt on how colour can affect the mood and it is proven since the beginning of the era. Different experiments and researches have been carried out to prove how colours can affect one's mood. Thus hospitals and public places are coloured carefully with light-toned. Firstly a public place should be located in a nice environment, and the colours of the building must be taken utmost care. Since we know red colour alerts the brain for anger, and people who are exposed to colours like red are often in a bad mood. Hospitals are always coloured with white and luminous green to energize the patients and help them during the recovery process and make them feel better. From my personal experience when I'm exposed to red or black colours a lot, I usually tend to have a headache and my eyes start to feel tired and that's not the case with luminous colours like white or yellow. This shows the link of how colour can affect people's moods. Similarly, the colours and interior decoration of a building can affect employees' moods and psychology. Natural and eye-soothing colours directly affect physical and mental health and reduce stress. Hence using the most appropriate colours is important in workspaces. Office spaces are always painted with light colours and nice themes with quotes. When an employee is already stressing about his job, dark colours can affect one's state of mind badly and may not be focus greatly on the work. To conclude, I stand to claim that colours play an important role in one's life. It can affect mental health a lot, so colours should not be selected randomly while building, rather a good amount of time should be invested in choosing colours.