Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their handwriting. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend

Handwriting has been one of the essential skills since the past times as it is a reflection of personality and tells a lot about a person. Psychologists usually study the handwriting of people who approach them to understand their basic character and approach to life. However, with rapid technological advancements, schools are focusing less on children's handwriting abilities and more on the academic development On the one hand, these days students are vouching for smart work rather than hard work in all their endeavours. While attending lectures in the schools or colleges, instead of multi-tasking by simultaneously taking notes while listening, they are recording the classes and are referencing those later while preparing for their examinations. This is helping them to focus on the teachings attentively with the least distraction and also helping them to easily revise the topics by simply selecting the recording and replaying. Thus, students are hardly using a pen & paper-based approach for notes taking and are thus saving time. Moreover, most of the schools have started conducting online examinations for their students, especially during the recent pandemic times. With this online approach, they are also focusing more on the student's knowledge rather than handwriting and other presentation skills. While this computer-based approach has its own benefits, it has some drawbacks too Firstly, with students being habituated to less writing, in the time of need, they are hardly able to put their words into writing and it is affecting their overall individual development. To elaborate, in government offices like banks and post offices electronically produced documents are not acceptable and the letters and other requests must be made in writing. With a lack of practice, students are finding it difficult to write quickly in such situations. Also, writing helps to remember easily. Anything which is learnt and written helps to memorize the things in a better way and it will also help in long term retention. To conclude, smart devices cannot be used in all circumstances and writing is essential and can be helpful anywhere. Its advantages outweigh the disadvantage and schools should continue to help students to improve their handwriting skills rather than focusing only on the knowledge gaining aspects