Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy products that they do not really need? What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

With technological advancement, the advertisement also moulded its way of presentation. A number of mega-companies rely on advertising to make their business more productive and profitable. However, this way of commercialism also encourages people to purchase unnecessary products. In my opinion, although commercialism has both positive and negative effects, still its advantages outweigh its disadvantages. To start with, the express benefit of advertisement is that one can always remain in touch with trendy stuff. For example, all the mega brands continuously depict their latest arrivals through various forms of advertisements throughout the year. This ultimately helps customers to know about fresh arrivals. In addition to this, the healthy competition of consumerism leads towards some discount offers. For instance, cloth brands at the start of the season introduce various offers to grab the customers. This competition not only has a positive impact on the price but also results in a high-quality product. Consequently, customers are usually blessed with high-quality and low-price products because of advertisements. On the other hand, this type of marketing technique can stimulate customers to buy unnecessary products. For example, a young millennial is usually get attracted by the latest technological mod cons like X-Box, - Phone etc. So, watching commercials of such gadgets can captivate him to purchase them, despite the fact, he was not in need of them. In conclusion, advertisement has become the backbone of any organization and it’s helping the customers as well in a number of positive ways. Although sometimes it inspires people to purchase unimportant things, this factor can be controlled by strong will.