People who decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it are more likely to have a satisfying working life than those who change jobs frequently. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern world, having a rewarded and happy professional life is becoming very important and is also a common topic of discussion. Some people have the view that it is more likely to get a fulfilling career if they set up goals at an early stage and stick to one job, while others prefer to experiment and change jobs often. Despite both views are valid, I partly agree with the view of deciding a career path early in life. On one hand, there is a big group of people who think that to be able to have an enjoyable life at work, they would need to decide at an early age a career path to follow, this decision may be triggered by some unconscious bias, for example, prompted by parents and tutors who often ask what do you want to be in the future. People who are exposed to this constant pressure, are likely to programme themselves and decide prematurely about their professional career. Moreover, having this early decision, provides a mindset and direction, young professionals would focus and spend their time and energy to achieve career goals, examples of this could be doctors or health professionals who need to start preparing themselves from high school to enter medical school. On the other hand, not everyone is suitable to decide early what professional path to follow. Some people are by nature more versatile and dynamic, for example, specialists of the creative industry, designers, entrepreneurs, all have the urge of experimenting and understanding how a certain industry and the job will look like, and this will many times means that they will change jobs frequently before settling and having a satisfying working life. In conclusion, there are different ways to achieve a happy and rewarding life at work, some people are likely to take less risk and stick to a career path from an early age, and others will experiment more and search until they find their passion. Personally, I partly agree with the view of deciding what to do at an early age, this is because at a young age we have little experience, and we often do not know what we really like and are passionate about. I believe we should be flexible and follow our hearts and our values, and surely we will have a satisfying working life.