Loneliness is an increasing problem in many societies, especially among the elderly. Why is this? How might it be remedied?

The feeling of being alone among the aged has been a rising complication in numerous communities. We will look at the causes for this and how to address the issue. Firstly, one of the main causes for the aloneness in old people is the lack of like-minded folk for them to spend time with. Usually, there is an age gap when the aged want to talk to members at home. This leads them to feel depressed. Secondly, the elderly are usually weak and have physical ailments that prohibit them from being active. This limits them from socializing outside their house. Moreover, they move to their children's houses once they are frail and require assistance. This means leaving behind the friends they had back in their home town. A way to solve the issue is for families to spend more time with the aged who have a good store of experiences and knowledge which would, in turn, help the other members. We can make the elderly a part of our decision making processes as their input would be invaluable and this will help reduce their loneliness. Another way to address the problem is for the government to organize social events catering to the likes of the old. Gatherings like religious sermons, musical programmes and so on would help them connect with people who have similar interests and also provide a way to entertain these people. With these steps, we can help reduce the feeling of being alone in the seniors. In conclusion, though loneliness is a prevalent issue with the elderly in many places of the world, we can use a few of the measures mentioned to make them feel at ease.