Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that the government is responsible for providing the basic infrastructure required for the well-being of its citizens. However, there are some who argue that investing in the arts is a waste of government funds, whilst others argue that it is a necessity. I agree that funding the arts is important, and I will substantiate my reasons in this essay. On one hand, people argue that education and healthcare are pivotal requirements of any nation, therefore more money must be put into these sectors to provide the state-of-the-art equipment which is needed. Also, poverty is something that is high in many developing countries, therefore many people feel that funding programs to help the destitute get back on their feet is something to look into. For example, in India, there are many organisations being funded by the government that works in the recycling plants. Others are being taught basic skills such as computers and stitching so that they can earn for themselves and slowly reduce the impoverished population. Alternately, people feel that funding the arts is necessary. This will help people to freely express themselves whether it be in music, dance, stage acting, or even painting. This will indeed boost the tourism sectors, to generate more revenue. In addition, it will give these artists the recognition that is required for them to pursue their passions. Over time, they will be given opportunities to show their skills on a greater stage and will bring recognition to the country as a whole. In conclusion, the arts, just like other sectors is an important part of society and it is important that the governments see this opportunity and nurture it.