Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Art is a very important tool as it helps to express one's self, and it is for this reason that many schools have art as a part of their curriculum. Many people feel it is a waste of time, whilst others believe it is important for a child's development. On one hand, the future is in technology, business, and science. Many parents know this, and therefore believe it is very important that the schools focus primarily on academics, as they believe it is this way, that their children will get an upper hand to succeed in this world. For example, in technopark Trivandrum, there are over a hundred companies that focus on either implementation of new technology or providing financial services to international clients, and even carry out different scientific procedures for the doctors in the developed countries. As technopark is the main hub of corporate companies, many students and parents alike feel that their future is somewhere amongst these fields. Alternately, one thing that needs to be pointed out is that the main objective of schools is to enable students to get a taste of what different subjects are about, and then allow them to choose which field this wish to pursue. Arts is an engaging subject which allows people to freely express themselves and therefore it should be included. In conclusion, I believe schools should encourage arts as part of the curriculum because it can help students to establish a passion for the subject, and if not it can be used as a way to release the stress of the hectic workload.