In some countries, criminal trials are shown on television for the public. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Criminal trials are public in most countries, some countries exacerbate people acces to them showing them on national television. They represent a particularly intense entertainment for public and could be in some cases not adequate for all the ages groups, they represent an additional way to show violence on public television and diffuse hate. However, they could also show children and adolescents the consequences of committing any action that is against the law. While justice, should operate in a public manner to both ensure that the right punishment is given and protect the imputate impute amputate from any abuse from the they judges and jury; we should protect the imputate impute amputate privacy. Showing trials on television could also be dangerous for criminals' incolumity exposing their identity and to repercussion from the general public; the lack of privacy does not only could influence the imputate' s life, but also that of his family. On the other hand, public criminal trials could serve as an example to encourage especially young peope to avoid breaking the law and in general discourage wrong-doing. Mass media are an often over-looked education medium, watching a trial and for example a fine being allocated to someone for breaking the speed limit could be helpful for adolescents approaching to drive alone for the first time and tempted by more "exciting" ways of driving. However the timings at which more sensitive topics, as rape, violence and murders, are transmitted should be carefully studied to avoid children to watch them or at least to ensure that they do so under adult supervision. In conclusion, the advantages of showing criminal trials on televesion outweigh the disadvantages if the trials and timings of the show are carefully selected.