Most artists earn low salaries and should therefore receive funding from the government in order for them to continue with their work. To what extent do you agree?

Art is predicated on the idea of freedom of expression, as art is meant, not only to display a pretty picture but also to pass on a message and make the viewer think. Works of art, usually take months or even years to create, and thereby the artist can only make a return on his investment once he has completed his work. Therefore, it is important that the government increase their salaries so that they can meet the demands of daily life, whilst being allowed to continue their passions. On one hand, people argue that if the government increases the salaries of artists, then they should be increasing the salaries of other sectors as well, especially the maintenance workers, and city cleaners who are risking their lives to keep the city clean. There is also a section of society that believes that art should not be given that much importance because it is not a sector that contributes to the economy of the country. For example, in technopark Trivandrum, there are over a hundred companies that focus on either implementation of new technology or providing financial services to international clients, and even carry out different scientific procedures for the doctors in the developed countries. As technopark is the main hub of corporate companies, many students and parents alike feel that their future is somewhere amongst these fields. Alternately, many others believe that art is important because it can portray a message or an idea, through pictures. It is also important to note that, it is through art that we have come to learn about previously lost civilisations. So although it may not seem like it now, these works will one day be looked upon by future generations. In conclusion, I feel it is very important that the government provides artists with a higher salary, because not only are they creating works which help improve our society, but they also help to inspire the younger generation to take up this role.