More and more children are becoming obese. What are the causes of this and What are the effects?

Health problems are one of the most important issues facing us today and children ’s obesity is no exception. This essay will discuss some reasons for this situation and explain how harmful it is. There are several reasons for childhood obesity. To begin with, unhealthy eating habits are the main reason. On a daily basis, children eat large amounts of processed food which are not nutritious. For instance, after school, many children usually eat fast food or drink high-calorie beverages. Additionally, parents allow their children to eat bigger portions than they need. For this reason, their body takes in more calories than they burn off. Secondly, lack of physical activity is to blame for obesity among children. For the most part, children have a sedentary lifestyle. They usually stay at home to watch television or to play games. Therefore, very few calories are burned and are stored by the body as fat. The long term consequences of childhood obesity are undeniable. First of all, the risk of other diseases and health problems are increased owing to obesity. In other words, high blood pressure and heart diseases occur in children at the push of a button. Moreover, the large amount of calories from junk food causes high cholesterol and changes in hormones. Due to obesity, children are often criticized for their appearance. In conclusion, obesity leads to many problems for children. Nevertheless, it is not an unsolvable problem. In my opinion, it is necessary that parents make a fuss over children ’s eating habits and lifestyle.