Some people think high-end technology can prevent and cut down the rate of committing crime. Do you agree or disagree?

The usage of sophisticated technology as the means to reduce the crime rates has raised conflicting opinions. In my perspective, I completely agree that the advent of cutting-edge technology can reduce the crime rate or even prevent someone from committing such actions. First and foremost, technology has revolutionized the way monitoring can be done. For instance, security no longer need to go over all the places in a mall to find the potential criminal action, they can just watch it from the screen with a CCTV recording which can show people’s activities in a specific place at a specific time. In addition, it can help authorities to identify the culprit if there is shoplifting going on, quickly and effectively. Hence, the efficiency of this technology will have a big impact in solving unlawful act. Secondly, with technology like microdrone, which is a tiny device with an infrared feature and has the ability to fly over 350ft above the ground without public noticing, the police can monitor the crowd in public places such as in a field of Coachella music festival. Violation often happens when there is a chance and that chance is massively increased in a crowded place where the crowd negligent about their own safety or property. In this situation, a thief can work freely without the fear of getting caught. But, with the implementation of microdrones, such action can be prevented and can be solved immediately. As a result, the crime rates will be reduced and society can feel safer to go to a crowded place. Current science advancement has also made it possible to gather data at a click of a button. With a DNA database, the detection of possible suspects for a felony can be done swiftly and correctly. So, the right felons can be caught and prevent them from being free and doing other potentially harmful actions. In conclusion, the implementation of advanced technology can help reduce and prevent illegal and lawbreaking activities in an effective and efficient way.