Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

It is a well-known phenomenon that electronic means of transactions such as credit and debit cards are replacing traditional physical currencies. This essay will not only explain the benefits of electronic cards such as the convenience of shopping, but it will also elaborate on their drawbacks related to security and hackers. The biggest advantage is that electronic cards provide flexibility and convenience for shopping. This is because of payment machines which are available at every place wherever we go out for shopping. Moreover, as most of the online stores accept debit or credit transfers, so people have to use them as online shopping is also increased significantly. For example, many places such as shops, malls, banks, and universities are receiving payment through these cards rather than currency notes. However, the main disadvantages of these cards are related to security. Firstly, these cards have 16 numbers on them which can be memorised or stolen by anyone. As a result, even you have a card in your pocket somebody can use it without your knowledge. Secondly, hackers can also steal your money if you type your card information at a fake online shopping website. For example, Millions of dollars are stolen every year in Australia because of security breaches in these cards. In conclusion, we examined how convenient shopping is the greatest advantage of using debit or credit cards, as well as why electronic security is the main disadvantage of these cards. In my opinion, although there are some issues regarding traditional currencies, the benefits of electronic cards are numerous.