Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, over-misuse has become a serious global environmental issue due to poor waste management. Recycling is one of the solutions that can resolve this topic. It is widely believed that law enforcement is the most effective way to persuade residents to do the sorting. I strongly agree about applying regulations that would help to drive people to recycle their misuse. Law enforcement should be the main option for the government to consider if they need residents to separate waste in efficient ways. Regulations made people more aware because breaking the law would lead to a penalty or fines. In addition, law enforcement can apply over the country not only in small areas, so no sorting can be solved in a long period and the government would have better misuse management. The government can run campaigns to promote their residents about recycling but this option would no longer be efficient since it cannot gain enough people's awareness. Thus, campaigns are only a temporary solution because people do not have long term motivation for recycling since they might not see the impact of recycling on their daily life. Moreover, If the campaign is organized by volunteers, it would lack resources and manpower to make it sufficient. To conclude, the government must provide appropriate equipment or rewards to persuade people to do the sorting. In order to have better waste management, the government should play a key role by applying regulations for recycling because citizen will adapt their behaviour to follow the law enforcement.