In many western countries there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are the advantages and disadvantages to couples having no children?

Many couples in the western part of the world, are choosing not to have children, and whilst this poses certain levels of drawbacks, it also provides certain pros. This by many is considered a more selfish decision by many people, whilst others see it as a personal choice and that everyone has the right to make such a resolution,, however they need to know all that they are missing first. On one hand, couples can focus on their careers, and take whatever steps necessary for personal growth concerning their work. With no children, they have more time and funds available for themselves, thereby living their lives void of any other attachments and commitments. Lastly, you only need to focus your attention on the needs of your partner and nothing else. Alternately, the socially accepted norm, once people become a couple is to have children. Therefore, couples without children often feel left out amongst their peers. Child-rearing is considered one of the crucial roles that a couple can be part of, and to miss out, in the eyes of others means that you are missing the most important episode of life. Furthermore, not having children, guarantees that when you are old, you will be alone having no one to take care of you. In conclusion, whilst many people in the western world are choosing not to have children, the cons of this decision outweigh the pros, and often it can be considered a selfish commitment. Furthermore, from the government's point of view, more people refusing to have children will result in a reduction in the population.