In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive development or negative development?

Businesses nowadays are advertising their new products as better and more novel than other brands existing in the market, they conduct launch events and exclusive give-away to promote their brand. The main reason for introducing a product as a novelty is mainly to stand out among the competitors, but also to stand out from their own previous generation device. However, emphasise on bringing in new technology in creations, even though for the sake of advertisement seems to be a positive development in my opinion. Due to globalisation is a huge amount of competition in every commodity sector, therefore companies are bringing in new devices to stand out among their competitors. For example, the tech-giant Apple stood out when they introduced iPods that could store thousands of songs compared to the conventional MP3 players which were available at that time. Secondly, the companies introduce new technologies to put pressure on their existing customers to switch to a new device, which will in turn, increase the revenue for the business. For instance, if we look into the smartphone market, we can see every year a new flagship smartphone is released which is better than the product from the last year, it might be an improvement in camera or even a new chipset. The constant pressure to bring in new items to the market is in turn fuelling innovations, thereby leading to a better-developed world. To illustrate, if we look back 20 years, to see and talk to a person who is in another part of the world was far from reality, but today it is possible with improvements in connectivity and computation. These types of innovations happened gradually because of the pressure for creating novel advancements over the years. However, there are also cons relating to emphasising creations to be new through advertisements, like increase in wastes as users switch to the new product for a negligible upgrade, it can even affect the mental health of the people as they might have an urge to buy a new device seen but may not be in a situation to buy the item. For example, when I am buying a commodity today it is going to be taken over by some other better product sometimes even within a week. In summary, businesses nowadays are advertising their products to be new mainly, to stand out from their competitors. Although this approach has some disadvantages, the pros outweigh the cons in my opinion.