In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

It's a natural behaviour for most species to spend their childhood and adolescence with their parents and when they mature enough, then they would leave them and live independently as young adults. Since humans are no exception, they also tend to leave to start living on their own. However, whether it is beneficial to take this action at an early age, for instance after graduation from school, has been debated. In my opinion, although it has certain negative effects, the advantages outweigh them. To commence with, let's consider self-efficacy which is of the utmost important skill anyone would need to be self-sustainable. One of the requirements to live independently is to be able to provide for yourself in order to cover the living costs such as accommodation and living expenses. In order to acquire this skill, one has to spend enough time working to gather both experience and enough savings to start a new life. Now if we take into account those who separate from their parents after graduation, we can observe that they are forced to spend their time more effectively so that they can provide for themselves. Therefore, even if they have lived with roommates, they are still far ahead of their peers that lived the same period at their parents '. As a result, they tend to have very high self-esteem which certainly would lead to successful careers. Another crucial skill is the ability to communicate effectively. Although people can learn this partly from schools, they tend to acquire it completely on a different level by spending so much time when they are living with strangers. Since they are used to interact with the same type of personalities at their home, who are likely to over-tolerate them, when they start living in a shared house it feels like a totally new world. They would have to learn to address problems and disputes in a manner to not insult. Therefore, after a certain amount of time, they tend to easily cooperate with almost anyone because they can now extend their knowledge and apply it in new environments. This perk would certainly allow them to diffuse a negative situation in most cases regarding either their professional or personal life. To summarize, even though living off of parents is a huge change with so many new responsibilities, the overall advantages are far more beneficial that enables us to live independently easier.