Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals.Others say that there are more important environmental problems.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The extinction of certain plant and animal species is one of the major problems our environment faces. In fact, there are many more prime issues concerning the environment too. Firstly,though zoos are attempting to prevent extinction by breeding animals and providing them with suitable conditions for their survival,few animals succumb to extinction anyway. This is definitely one of the primary problems we are facing.The extinction of animals tip the balance of nature and meddles with the trophic pyramid and food chain existing in nature. This can lead to devastating consequences in the future. For example,carnivores such as lions feed on cows while cows are herbivores that feed on grass.If one of the organisms face extinction, the other two are heavily affected too.Without cows to eat the grass, there is a sudden abundance of grass everywhere which dries up, increasing the possibility of the occurrence of forest fires.The lions too can not feed on them anymore so they eat more of other animals,which in turn decreases the number of that particular species. Secondly,there are far more problems our environment does face. For example, Global warming is the biggest issue faced by nature. This has led to adverse effects like ozone depletion above the Antarctic and has also led to the melting of ice caps in the Himalayas. This will result in all the snow present in the world melting away. therefore increasing the water level, consequently submerging land. In conclusion, nature is on the brink of facing a huge catastrophe that will end up affecting the entire population.In my opinion,the living world is facing many issues but, one cannot be giving more importance than the others.They are all equally responsible for the bad situations the world is facing.After thorough analysis, I would like to say that, unless we immediately start to rectify our mistakes and make the world a better place for all living organisms, we will be in constant danger.