Governments should spend more money on railways than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Transportation infrastructure is one of the major aspects that government need to keep improving. In fact, I agree with those who feel that the authority should invest more in railways than streets for two reasons. Firstly, Investment in railways helps reducing traffic congestion. Having efficient and convenient train services would encourage people to use trains more; therefore, the number of people using private cars could be reduced which will ease traffic congestion. While I concede that improving road infrastructure also helps to reduce the problem. However, the demand for car using tend to keep growing over years. As a result, the authority might need to keep constructing more and more roadways to supply this never-ending demand which could lead to over budget and a high density of cars and roads in the future. The second and most worrisome reason is that trains are way more environmentally friendly than cars. While fumes created by road users are one of the major sources of carbon footprints, trains generally create much less toxic gasses and can transport many passengers at once. As a result, if more people choose to travel by trains, it will reduce environmental problems massively. Although some could argue that electric cars will not release carbon dioxide. However, most cars are still run by fossil fuel and the idea of using an electric car on a global scale might be difficult to achieve especially in less developed countries. Thus, making rail travel to become more comfortable and convenient for travellers might be more practical. To conclude, not only can investing in railway reduce traffic congestion, it can also be better for the environment. Therefore, although I acknowledge that road development is important, I agree that the government should focus and spend more money on railways.