Researches show that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertisements of food products should be banned in the same way as the cigarettes advertising is banned in many countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era of sedimentary lifestyle, overeating is detrimental similar to smoking is dangerous to health. However, I dissent to the above-mentioned idea that advertising food should be banned in the countries and the reasons associated with it will be elaborated in the paragraphs further. On the one hand, it is generally witnessed that advertising plays a crucial role in influencing the mindset of the consumers. Therefore, it is used as a tool by organizations to improve their sales and profit margins. Although, it can also act as a medium to spread awareness relevant to overeating and its consequences on the health of individuals shortly. To illustrate this with an example, several advertisements have a disclaimer specifying the percent or the ingredients unfavorable in terms of fitness and health. Hence, it gives an idea to the folks to consider such products before consuming them and is also, helpful in identifying the right food to be fit and fine. On the flip side, banning the advertisements causing damaging impacts is one of the possible solutions to declining its production and uses among the citizens within the nation. For instance, if adverts regarding unhealthy food products are banned, it will ultimately result in lower production and atlast, resulting in less demand for it. Hence, there will be less usage of such products with the least risk on the health of the individuals leading towards a healthy life. In a nutshell, banning advertisements is not a solution for any social issue, instead, it can be utilized in a better way to safeguard the interests of the public on a global platform.