It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that some people are born talented either in sports or in music, while the other argument states that these can to taught to any children for them to become good at it. Although, some people are just god-gifted in terms of playing sports or music because of genetics, I believe that by working hard from an early age, all children can become great musicians or sports personalities. On the one hand, some children by birth, tend to show the signs of greatness whether in sports or in music. Genes play a huge role in shaping talents. If parents or grandparents were good, then the probability of a newborn child growing up, and playing certain sports or music well is high. For example, Paolo Maldini's, called the best centre-back of all time in football, father was also arguably the world's best defender of his generation. However, I believe that more than just genes, pressure to live up to the family or parent's history makes the children do well in sports or music. On the other hand, if children practice a certain form of sport or music from an early age, they will be able to develop the same skills as someone who was born talented at it. The brains of adolescents are in developing stage till they reach a certain age, and during that period if they are made to practice music or sports over and over again, it becomes muscle memory. As a result, playing music or sports becomes natural to them. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo, arguably the best football player ever, stated in his recent YouTube video that it is his discipline and dedication in the gym and training ground that made him the best and not just his talent. Therefore, I believe that by practicing repeatedly all children can become good at sports or music. In conclusion, some people are talented by birth in terms of playing sports or music because of their genetic history but if all children can be taught to practice these repeatedly since their childhood, then all of them can become good at it.