More and more plastic is polluting the oceans. What problems are caused by plastic waste? What can be done to solve this problem?

The invention of plastics is considered revolutionary, because of their durability, accessibility, and cheap production cost. However, plastics have now turned out to be one of the major environmental problems since they are not easily degraded. Now as more and more resin is being produced without recycling or reusing, it often ends up in oceans, and in turn, is polluting the sea and affecting the underwater species. There are many major problems associated with plastic waste management, firstly, the single-use polythene wastes which take years to degrade are often dumped in the ocean, due to which the habitat of many sea creatures is destroyed. For example, the polythene waste which is dumped into the ocean usually gets stuck in the fins of dolphins, thereby restricting their motion. Secondly, the small plastic pieces dumped into the oceans are sometimes consumed by the fish and thus resin enters into the food chain. For instance, reports have shown that humans consume approximately 2 grams of nano plastic particles every year through food. This results in severe illness and health problems. The solution to the plastic waste management crisis we are facing today is easier said than done. Although recycling is an option to reduce polycarbonate production, the cost associated with recycling is huge compared to manufacturing polycarbonate products. Therefore, alternatives for plastic products should be promoted in the market, namely, companies that produce biodegradable alternatives for styrofoam from fungi, or edible water packages in place of PET bottles. These types of innovations should be promoted, thus making people aware that it is high time to turn our back on polycarbonate commodities. In summary, as more and more plastic is manufactured they end up polluting our oceans and lands. They enter into the food chain and cause health problems, so it is important that we find a solution for this problem. There are many innovative solutions available in the market right now and they need to be promoted as alternatives to plastic commodities.