Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes air pollution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s globalised world, air transport is one of the world’s most essential businesses. It has changed how the world operates. While air crafts have somehow adverse effects on the environment and are responsible for the vast majority of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere contributing to global warming. I personally disagree with the view of limiting flight travel due to the important social and economical benefits that bring. On one hand, the aviation industry has significant impacts on our economy in a direct and indirect manner. Firstly, aeronautics provides one of the most efficient ways to move between long distances, therefore, people and cargo companies can be benefited by travelling and deliver their goods across the world in a fast way. Secondly, the air business creates multiple jobs, such us, pilots and cabin crew, customer services, food services, fuel suppliers and many others. Moreover, many countries rely their economies on tourism. By discouraging international travel, many individuals would lose their jobs, disrupting the global economy. On the other hand, the aviation industry also contributes to social wellbeing. Travelling between countries allow international trade, cultural exchange, and also serve as humanitarian and emergency aid. For instance, organisations like “Doctor without borders”, use aeroplanes to fly their health professionals to poor countries and bring the medical help they need. In conclusion, when considering the major impact of the aeronautic industry on society and the economy, I disagree that flight travel should be restricted due to air pollution, instead I believe that the issue should be addressed differently by promoting and developing more efficient engines, and the use of bio-fuels to reduce the carbon footprint on the environment.