A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

The world is witnessing a rapidly increasing number of people speaking languages such as Chinese, English while the other languages are less popular. In my opinion, I strongly argue that this trend brings both negative and positive effects. On the one hand, using a language together has several advantages. Firstly, it is easier for people to communicate with each other whatever their nationality if they speak the same language. For instance, nowadays, a lot of inhabitants try to study English to have more opportunities of approaching the foreign countries’ citizens. Therefore, they can learn about other cultures, literature or find a good job. Secondly, speaking a popular language brings several positive effects for one’s career. Many international companies require for language ability that their employees must have a proficiency of English speaking skill. On the other hand, the increasing popularity of speaking a language also has its disadvantages. It is a fact that popular languages bring their own cultures and their effects might be negative to the other cultures. Therefore, losing a language also means that a culture is on the edge of extinction. For example, Vietnamese language including vocabulary transformed from Chinese is a result of over a million years being dominated by China. The Ancient Vietnamese language no longer exists and up to now, documents given about the ancient Vietnamese language are still hypotheses. In conclusion, the increasing use of some languages and vice versa is both a positive as well as a negative development. However, I believe that it is necessary to save these dying languages to protect the variety of cultures. languages such as Chinese, English while the other languages are less popular. In my opinion, I strongly argue that this trend brings both negative and positive effects. On the one hand, using a language together has several advantages. Firstly, it is easier for people to communicate with each other whatever their nationality if they speak the same language. For instance, nowadays, a lot of inhabitants try to study English to have more opportunities of approaching the foreign countries’ citizens. Therefore, they can learn about other cultures, literature or find a good job. Secondly, speaking a popular language brings several positive effects for one’s career. Many international companies require for language ability that their employees must have a proficiency of English speaking skill. On the other hand, the increasing popularity of speaking a language also has its disadvantages. It is a fact that popular languages bring their own cultures and their effects might be negative to the other cultures. Therefore, losing a language also means that a culture is on the edge of extinction. For example, the Vietnamese language including vocabulary transformed from Chinese is a result of over a million years being dominated by China. The Ancient Vietnamese language no longer exists and up to now, documents given about the ancient Vietnamese language are still hypotheses. In conclusion, the increasing use of some languages and vice versa is both a positive as well as a negative development. However, I believe that it is necessary to save these dying languages to protect the variety of cultures.