Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is undeniable that most of the countries are facing traffic congestion and air pollution issues all over the world, therefore, raising the prices of petrol has been a considerable way to solve those growing problems. Although high pricing of petrol is a good way to control the problems, I think that the government should tax for vehicles,especially for private’s cars. On the one hand, despite it is a good way to solve to control the growing traffic and problems of pollution by raising the costs of petrol, it will affect all types of transportations including public transports such as buses. For instance, some people may need to commute every day in order to go to their works or some students need to use school buses to go to school. IF the price of petrol is high, those people who use public transport may need to pay higher fees for using that. Therefore, this way may reduce the traffics and pollution issues, however, it can be affected on some people who use public transportation. On the other hand, I think that taxing the vehicles particularly in private’s cars by the governments might be effective in controlling cars on the rods and reducing air pollution. With the advance of technology, people easily brought so many cars with affordable prices and as a result, there are so many private cars which are more than the number of families in households. It happened mostly all family members are using their privates’ cars and it leads to so many cars on roads and traffic jams. For example, in Singapore, the taxes on cars are very expensive and everyone is unable to own private cars because of the high taxing by the Singapore government. Thus, most people are using trains and public transportation to commute. To sum up, although I agree that it is the best method to solve the problems of growing traffic and pollution by increasing the petrol price, I believe that raising the tax for private vehicles might be effective to solve the problems like the government in Singapore did taxing to control traffic congestion.