In many parts of the world, families were larger in the past because people had more children. Do you think there were more advantages or disadvantages to being part of a large family in the past? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Many bigger families used to live under one big roof in countries all over the world because of having more children in a single family. Many believe that it had many advantages whereas some argue and see it as disadvantage. I strongly believe that larger families have more advantages than disadvantages. We see 3 to 4 generations of family members living together including uncles, aunts, cousins, nephews and nieces. This way, children get to learn about culture, values, traditions, ethics and mother tongue easily from elders. Big families when they are united, gives peace of mind and stands with each other during difficult times. Children learn respect, sharing and the importance of family bonding. They get to play with cousins and nurture them thoroughly. Moreover, living together as one big family reduces overall expenses to a huge extent. Nowadays, it is quite common that families are divided and prefer to stay separately which has obvious consequences. Family feel lonely and depressed,especially under difficult circumstances. They feel overwhelmed with house chores and raising kids. Upon living with a larger family, many people do not get privacy and clashes due to the different nature of people in the family. It is also observed as a big problem in ownership of tasks and responsibilities. It is quite common that due to family support one never understands the challenge, the importance of self-dependency and sincerity. Overall, I believe, living in a larger family have more advantages than disadvantages and can be addressed by effective communication, sharing roles and responsibilities among family members.