Some people believe that online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed material should be used. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A certain group of individuals believe that material for education available on the internet is more beneficial rather than printed books.I personally agree with the latter opinion as reading books helps children to use their imagination and enhance their cognitive skills. To begin with, information available online for educational purposes is one of the most controversial and debatable topics among teachers.There is a deluge of arguments in favour of my stance.The most predominant one is that not only the modern fast era has made our life relaxing rather innovations in technology has provided classes,audiovisual aids and other educational materials available online but on the other hand teacher to student interaction is crucial for the mental development of the child that couldn’t be replaced by various gadgets available. For example, a survey conducted by Oxford University revealed that excessive use of the internet by students for academic purposes would lead to rising in mental health disorders in the future. Further, most of the content available on the various platforms may be fake and there should be some check back for its authenticity. Moreover,reading books is an art that human beings have honed from generations and it is important for critical thinking and reasoning analysis. Additionally, developing a habit of reading leads to the building of neuronal connections in the brain which is pivotal for long term memory processing. For instance, a survey conducted by the Indian Institute of Technology,Ranchi,demonstrated that chances of dementia or Alzheimer’s disease may decrease during old age by regular reading and performing calculations.So, the habit of learning is crucial for the present generations as demonstrated by studies. To conclude, the potential benefits of actual reading are indeed too great to ignore so both the public and private organisations could come forward and create awareness among the public to develop a reading habit among children at an early age if possible.