Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people claim that if children are allowed to make everyday decisions, society may become full of selfish individualists, while others argue that it is important for children to make up their own minds about matters that impact them. I agree with the former viewpoint because children may develop the habit of being self-centered if given the right to decide on mundane matters. On the one hand, empowering children to make choices in their daily lives hones their decision-making skills. The reason is that if they don’t weigh their options carefully and make the right decisions, there will be consequences. For example, children who choose to indulge in ice cream every day may become overweight and be laughed at by their peers. consequently, they learn the importance of choosing healthy food over short-term pleasure. However, I do not think this is a good way to help children become better at decision-making because they are too young to be mentally strong enough to face the consequences of their bad decisions. On the other hand, complying with all of children’s everyday wishes may result in them forming the habit of selfishness. This is because when allowed to choose whatever they want to eat or wear on a daily basis, they may become accustomed to not caring about other people’s preferences when making a decision. This habit will stay with them as they grow up, creating a selfish society. I agree with this argument because I have seen many second -generation rich children raised like this and become very self-centered adults as a result. In conclusion, although children may become better decision-makers if allowed to decide on ordinary matters, I think this is more likely to lead them to develop the habit of selfishness, thus producing a society of self-centered individuals.