Some people believe that what children watch on television influences their behaviour. Others say that amount of time spent watching television influences their behavior. Discuss both views and give own opinion.

In this day and age, the advancement of technology has brought significant changes to the lives of individuals. For many people, the content shown on television has a massive impact on children's actions. For others, they believe that the amount of time spent in front of the telly is the reason for the change in their conduct. In this essay, we shall discuss both sides of this coin. On one hand, natives argue that the content they watch is directly affecting the children's behaviour. With the constant streaming of advertisements, children get coaxed into wanting things that they don't even need. Furthermore, these advertisements do not talk about the drawback of their products, so the children are not aware of the same, and instead bother their parents for them. Another reason why children feel that they must have these articles is because of peer pressure. For example, the constant bombardment of adverts in relation to McDonald's foods, makes children get addicted to the concept of this food. Alternately, the long durations at which they watch the box, are also a cause for concern. The continuous motion of flashing lights is a fast motion, can be irritable to the eyes and damage the eyesight of a child. Prolonged exposure to television can also result in them becoming highly dependable on the tube, thereby causing a disconnect with parents and friends. In conclusion, I feel that both the amount of time, and the content which a child watches on the television both influence their characters, but in a negative way.