Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In order that people can communicate with each other, learning to speak their language is very important. But what if we are just new to this country, how can we talk to them? This essay will discuss that it can cause serious social and practical problems for the people, especially to all the foreigners. To begin with, living in different places needs time to adapt which includes clothing, food, values, traditions and language. Miscommunication is one of the serious problems for the people who shifted to other countries. Aside from english, there are other places that can only converse using their mother tongue to talk such as, French, Italian, German, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, Korean and many more. In addition to that, some places in the world choose to use only for their comfort. Furthermore, social and practical issues are common because of misunderstanding that causes different offenses to both the speaker and the listener. For example, there is a new guy who is transferred to Saudi Arabia to work, since he is new, he learned only the basic term of arabic that he can use during at work. One day, an Arab customer ask what he is doing, the new hired answered back using the terms he knew, that the machine is " karbota " that he needs to fix it. The Arab suddenly became angry and started to shout at the guy. The manager went and asked what happened, he explained that the machine is not working and needs to be fixed. So the employee used " karbota " instead of " karban " which means not functioning, which the first one defines as crazy. Using terms that we are not familiar with can causes problems to the person who really knows their words. In conclusion, having the interest to learn their cultures especially how they talk is a way of respecting them. It can also help us to blend in, in their society but we should also think that it also depends on how they interpret each other's words.