Some people say that at all levels of education, from primary school to university, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

A group of individuals ponders that the theoretical knowledge outweighs the practical skills provided at the various levels of schooling to the students allocating enough time. I dissent to the above-mentioned idea because teaching methods have changed drastically in the last few years and the reasons will be elaborated in the paragraphs further. To commence with, it is generally observed that with the application of the new teaching techniques students are given guidance concerning the skills required once they enter into the corporate culture. To illustrate this with an example, nowadays, there is a common practice of group presentations and discussions conducted by the students with the support of the tutors which help them to enhance their communication skills and to represent themselves among a large group of individuals, sharing their point of views. Therefore, practical skills are given equal importance in recent schools and universities to prepare all students for future employment opportunities. Furthermore, apart from academics, there are a plethora of choices available to the students in terms of learning and upgrading themselves as per their interests. To cite this with an example, bilingual language courses are part of their learning and they are not rigid to any particular language. Also, they can migrate to any other country to pursue higher studies. Another example is training sessions for university students before campus placement to boost their confidence and make them aware of the professional world. Hence, in the current scenario, it is not crucial to be a scholar, rather essential to learn several skills required to stand in the competitive environment. To recapitulate, with the advent of the numerous methods of teaching and awareness of the environment, theoretical and practical skills plays an equal role in the overall growth of individuals.