The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is debatable whether the improvement of people’s lives is the most prominent purpose of science or not. In this essay, I will discuss the extent to which this view is correct. Firstly, humanity inevitably faces various difficulties on the daily and solutions are required to handle these situations. Usage of science is by far the most convenient way of solving these problems; moreover, by carrying out scientific experiments, scientists come to conclusions which lead to accessing data capable of improving day-to-day life. For instance, air pollution has become a great issue nowadays and scientists have taken measures to address this problem. As a result, engines capable of using sources of energy other than fossil fuels have been produced; having a significant effect on reducing the pollution of air and in turn the increase of the quality of life. Since the tranquillity of individuals is paramount, it is understandable that the ultimate goal of science would have to be related to their lives; however, other factors are also of high importance; most notably nature and its species. One particular problem that catches the attention is the extinction of different animal groups leading to the decrease of biodiversity. This matter should not be dismissed as nature is a vast source of data for reaching higher levels of knowledge and science should be used to handle this problem. In conclusion, as important as the improvement of daily life is, certain matters such as the safety of other living beings should not be overlooked, for they have a noticeable effect on the quality of life.