Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often held that zoos should be closed down due to their workers’ cruelty. While some people think this reason is predominant, others think that wildlife parks can be useful in protecting animals. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. On the one hand, some people are of the opinion that zoo employees are violent, so animals in captivity should be cut down. In my opinion, these thoughts are the consequence of workers’ bad responsibilities. For instance, these responsibilities include giving some water, food, etc. Because there are lots of situations when some tourists from other countries come to see wild creatures like lions, cheetahs and hippos they will not be in their cages or when they will just lie down doing nothing. One clear example of this is when I went to the biggest collection of wild creatures in our country, there were plenty of beasts that did not have the will to do something. Therefore, this group of people believe that menageries should be cut down. On the other hand, other people admit that zoos have lots of useful things for protecting their animals. If we say more specifically, these people believe that zoos can protect the species that are in danger of disappearing. For example, we can take snow leopards. In our country, Kazakhstan, there are only a few of these animals and they were entered into our red book. The red book is the book with the list of disappearing creatures. Snow leopards live in the mountains in Almaty in the south of Kazakhstan, so we can see these beasts from the zoo that is located in Almaty when I was in the Almaty zoo I saw these species too and I was shocked. Because, if we compare other animals in zoos from other cities, they were in good condition and totally active for a long time. That is why the other group of people admit that zoos are good for protecting wild and disappearing creatures. In conclusion, there were lots of debates arguing that zoos are cruel, while others think that zoos are useful for providing better conditions for beasts. Personally, in my point of view, zoos are the best for all.