Governments should make people responsible for their own local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

The environment is a crucial part of our life. There have been debates about whether local people should be responsible for their local environment or not. Some think that governments should make people responsible for the protection of their local environment, while others take a position against it. I, however, disagree with the given statement. First, local people do not have enough financial resources to look after their surrounding environment. Looking after environment needs a lot of time and effort, while many local people cannot sacrifice their job and family commitments to do so. Moreover, protecting the environment costs an arm and a leg, and many inhabitants cannot afford to upset their family budget in order to do activities such as buying trees and flowers and planting them in their neighborhood. Apart from that, a city needs to be balanced in terms of infrastructure and making people the only responsible ones for saving the environment is likely to lead to an inconsistency in the city. Second, governments are the greatest sectors in every country and have enormous amount of budget. This budget has come from many resources such as taxes paid by citizens and is supposed to be spent in various departments such as environment protection. There are some duties, such as recycling, that local people are not able to do. Thinking of a region where the governments and municipalities do not provide citizens with huge trash cans. In this case, where do the local inhabitants suppose to discard their household wastes? In conclusion, although there are minor steps by which people can protect their environment, in my opinion, when it comes to protecting the environment, locally or nationally, the role of governments and other officials cannot be denied, and in this regard, local people should take the backseat.