An increasing number of people are buying what they need. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Shopping online for common needs by pupils has seen a drastic increase in recent days. Personally, I am enjoying online shopping especially shopping for groceries and medicines, post covid pandemic. I have seen numerous advantages of this new buying experience and let me share my views in the next couple of paragraphs. To begin with, most of us are used to visit the nearest shop for daily needs. Many online portals like Amazon, Flipkart started offering home essentials like groceries, medicines and not last vegetables. As an example, I started buying using these portals with the added advantage of not physically visiting the stores. This saves not only time but also benefits me to avoid pollution. Various consumer-friendly mobile applications are available using which we have a great shopping experience of picking up the required goods only. For example, I usually visit Walmart with my kid with a pre-defined list on a paper however I always end up buying unnecessary items and unplanned expenses. Leveraging technology is vastly helping companies to save their maintenance costs. For example, businesses always want to set up their shops well within the reach of customers and to achieve this they need to setup up shops in various parts of the town. To run a shop monthly rents, electricity bills, staff salaries are seen as common expenses which can be saved by setting up a web portal and reduction in costs. The only disadvantage is that the man-power jobs which are required to maintain a shop shall start to disappear. To conclude, I see more benefits in leveraging online shops for buying daily needs.