Some people believe that you should strictly control your children’s behavior, while some others believe children should be free to choose their behavior. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Parents have always been concerned with how to nurture their children especially in terms of shaping their behaviour. In other words, it has always been a controversial issue whether children ’s behaviour should be controlled strictly or they should be allowed to behave freely on their own choice. I believe, it is necessary that parents take a moderate approach so as to deal with this issue. On the one hand, according to psychologists having strict control over kids’ behaviour is likely to result in resentment and reluctance in their manners which in turn, might cause them to become stubborn and obstinate grown-ups. This is because they virtually have never experienced the freedom to make their own choices. For example, even by getting the most rational and logical advice from wise and experienced people, such grown-ups might still tend to oppose others in spite of being totally agreed deep down. Furthermore, children who are dominated strictly might not have the chance to properly develop their own decision-making and problem-solving skills and as a result, they might not make wise and mentally mature adults. On the flip side, some people adopt the approach of giving thorough freedom in behaviour to their children. Kids who are grown up under such circumstances might become over-confident adults who are arrogant enough to rely solely on themselves and not making efforts to learn things based on reality and truth or even refuse to ask others’ advice or opinions on shared issues. As a result, they cannot cooperate with others properly and might seem disobedient from people ’s viewpoints which can result in becoming isolated or rejected by society. Also, given the fact that in many cases children do not have enough knowledge and experience to make safe choices, such freedom in behaviour might result in getting hurt either physically or mentally. A simplistic example would be a child who is allowed to play with the stove and consequently gets hurt seriously. To conclude, some people prefer controlling their children strictly while some believe in complete freedom. In my opinion, neither the former nor the latter approach will work efficiently if they are considered solely. Parents should balance out their behaviour towards children so as to raise kids who are confident enough to make rational decisions and able to cooperate with people in society.