The best way to solve world’s environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that increasing the cost of fuel helps with environmental problems. I completely disagree with this statement and in this essay, I will try to present my arguments. Of course, a lot of people say that increasing the price of fuel could help solve environmental problems. This is predicated on the assumption that higher prices of fuel force people to use public transport. I believe that most people use their cars because they do not have any alternatives, so when prices become higher they still will be using their cars. Very often people use their vehicles when they have to get to their jobs or transport someone or something, in this particular case public transport is not a solution. Furthermore, the fact of increasing fuel prices will have a very low impact on the level of consumption. Additionally in my opinion there are a lot of more effective ways to reduce environmental problems like alternative energy sources. I believe increasing the cost of fuel hits every single person even if they don't have a car. Services and food prices rise due to the cost of fuel. On the other hand when governments invest in alternative sources of power. This type of energy can really cause the level of pollution can decrease and people do not have to pay additional costs for fuel. In conclusion, it is a mistake to assume that increasing the price of fuel is the best way to solve environmental problems because the key to solving these issues is to develop renewable energy.