It is more important for a building to serve its purpose to look beautiful. Architects don’t need to worry about whether it is a real work of art. Do you agree or disagree?

Currently, perspectives surrounding constructions have never failed to provoke debates among people. While some people put a premium on the functions of a building, others oppose that appearance serves a more significant role. I am in the middle of this school of thought, yet, this essay is dedicated to analysing both perks. Without a shadow of a doubt, the aesthetic element plays a paramount importance in every facet, especially in architecture. Nowadays, there is an ever-increasing demand for beauty and people take more consideration in the look. Once living up to that expectation, people can not only enhance their living standards but also expand their happiness. On top of that, outstanding architectural works draw a great appeal to visitors, which acts as the main drive to exponential thriving tourism. Dragon bridge, a characterized symbol in Da Nang, can be cited as a persuasive example. The site attracts millions of traveling lovers annually. Although the tremendous benefits of the appearance are widely acknowledged, the significance of using purpose still outweighs its counterpart. Recently, the population boom has become a dire issue and led to the lack of inhabiting, which requires timely measures to redress. One of the resolutions is to design the building properly with a view to making most of the living space. Furthermore, if a building only has a stunning view but without using purpose, it would be a waste. Despite the astounding beauty, many constructions winning an architecture award only act as a display since the design is impractical and the only thing people are looking for is the appearance. In conclusion, the redeeming features of beauty are undeniable. However, before considering the artistic factor, functions should be seen as a core value.