Some schools start teaching a foreign language in primary school years. Do the advantages of teaching foreign languages to young children outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, some primary schools start to teach children a foreign language. Although there are some concerns about its rationality and effectiveness, I strongly believe that learning another language at an early age provides far more benefits. In our time, knowing foreign languages obviously gives people an extra edge in a globalized world. It is proven that the best time for people to start to learn languages is under 12. This not only gives children more time to get familiar as well as practice but also helps with natural response and accent for instance. Older learners, though, who may be better with grammar and vocabulary, usually find it difficult to speak naturally and in the correct accents. On the other hand, the main reason why people object to teaching foreign languages at primary school is that this may negatively interfere with learning the mother language. For example, Children who just begin to read and write may confuse between two languages which leads to decreased efficacy in both subjects. However, this argument is not rational because there are children from dual-language families, who learn two languages from the very first age effectively. Another concern is that the addition of another subject may put too much burden on the young learner. People argue that young children should have more time to play and interact with the environment instead of spending hours in classrooms. There are some truths in their arguments, however learning languages is not the case because this could be integrated with other activities which could help children learn while playing, without putting more lessons on their schedule. In conclusion, despite some concerts which I find unsustainable, learning foreign languages in primary school provides far more benefits and should be more widely encouraged.