Some people say that the main aim of advertisements is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertisements are ubiquitous. While this form of propaganda does serve purposes that are beneficial for businesses, I agree with the idea that the main target of adverts is to encourage consumers to purchase products they don’t necessarily have to buy. On the one hand, I accept that advertising does play a key role in our modern society. One main function of advertising is that it bridges the gap between the consumers and manufacturers. Internet, for example, can precisely deliver information of the products to their target customers even across countries. Another key contribution of adverts is to stimulate economic growth by boosting consumers’ impulse to spend money. Furthermore, well-designed and well-performed adverts can be very entertaining. However, I would agree that the primary mission of advertising is to encourage people to shop for things they don’t really need. Firstly, adverts advocate an unhealthy and wasteful lifestyle by persuading consumers to follow the latest version of commodities which are merely fractionally superior to the older one. Secondly, some advertisements focus on selling brands and sought to associate certain brands with a higher social status. Take the fashion industry as an example, deeply influenced by adverts, many people buy expensive luxurious only to satisfy their inner vanity. Finally, some adverts intentionally exaggerate or mislead the audience by implying dire consequences if their commodities are not used. For example, a woman is likely to lose the affection of her husband if she doesn’t use certain cosmetics. In conclusion, although useful in some ways, advertising is mainly carried out to maximize financial profits and to entice people to squander money on dispensable things.