One of the prime times for advertising on TV is when children get back from school. Some people think that advertisements aimed at children should not be allowed. What is your opinion?

Advertising is considered necessary for the introduction of a product in a market. Advertising is displayed in various manners, either through the use of billboards or magazines or the most common medium being advertising through television. Many of these advertisements are aired when children return from school. Whilst, some believe that this should be banned, others believe that it should remain. I believe that adverts after school hours should be allowed to continue, and will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. Every manufacturer or promoter has the right to promote their product, as this is a free market. The main idea of such announcements is to bring to the public's attention that this sort of product is available in the market. Therefore, if these bulletins are displayed during hours when there is less viewership, it does not meet the requirement of voicing the advert. For example, Asianet is the major news distributor in Kerala, and during every news announcement, they display at least 20 minutes of advertisements. Now although many of these notices are very compelling, they take up a lot of time. However, the channel has the right to display the ads because the promoters have paid for this air time. On the other hand, some argue that this continuous bombardment of adverts during these hours, will end up making the children obsessed with the product, and thereby they will pester their parents to purchase that particular product. They may not even require the product, but since the commercial is thrown at them multiple times in a day, it tends to stick in their minds, and therefore it results in unwanted purchasing. In conclusion, whilst I believe the promotion of adverts can tend to lead school children to request their parents for unwanted products, I still believe that promoters have the right to encourage their products through the use of adverts on the telly. Alternately, it must be pointed out that although these displays may create unwanted urges to buy a product, at the end of the day, it is the parent who makes the final decision. So even if the children have a craving for the product advertised, it is the parent's responsibility to put their foot down when required.