Some people believe that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, foreign language such as English, a global language, has been having an enormous impact in every aspect of our life. Moreover, with the globalization happening where people from around the world sharing information and knowledge to each other, English skill becomes an absolute necessity. Many argued that learning English should be started at an earlier stage of education for the children. From my perspective, I do believe that the benefits of practising English earlier are more significant than its minor setbacks. Forcing youngsters to take multiple language lessons in advance can cost them their brainpower. At primary school, the kids will be introduced to basic subjects at lower levels, even their own native languages. For instance, many elementary schools in a small city in Indonesia teach their students their own traditional speech as well as their mother tongue, Bahasa. Adding one other language, English for example will be confusing for them. As a result, the learning process will not be optimal due to too much information to be absorbed. Nonetheless, the primary advantage of learning English is it is going to give the youngsters a head start, more time of English exposure, getting them more prepared since the world is changing rapidly in a competitive way. To illustrate this, the Singapore curriculum introduced English as their primary subject at elementary school. Adding to this, their daily conversation is already in the mix with English. To catch them in the competition, introducing English at primary school will be an answer. Due to the longer exposure they have, as they grow older they will already be extremely familiar with the language, hence making them more fluent at an earlier age and more competitive in a global world. Other than that, learning English can be done in a fun way to overcome their confusion due to learning multiple languages. To put it simply, a child loves learning by playing and it makes them more interested in the subjects. So, a great method in simple learning mixed with entertainment will help them understand better without getting confused. In conclusion, even though learning languages can be confusing for kids, there are methods to tackle this hindrance and I believe it has immense benefits such as giving them a head start, making them more contentious and prepared.