Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion, that teenagers should try to work during their free time and do it fo free. Some people outline different benefits for youngsters and society as well. From my perspective, I totally disagree with the statement about the unpaid work which can be done by teenagers and there are several reasons why. Firstly, every work must be paid or at least lead you to some general attributes of satisfaction. It’s the basic rule of the current working society, development of the economy and etc. Teenagers must be motivated to work on their free time and having their own money will help them to feel the freedom and their attitude to life and work can be changed. Secondly, what kind of work can inexperienced amateur do? Definitely, it’s not intellectual or sophisticated work. Every employer will ask to do some physical work or unpleasant activities, like loading, packing, cleaning, driving, and etc. Thus, it is a question whether that’s diverse working is sufficient for teenagers, who will be used simply as a working force. Moreover, young people will not achieve any experience or get knowledge which will be useful in the future. Finally, free time can be spent on hobbies or volunteer work, which is desirable. After all, nowadays there is a high pressure on teenagers about their study and then future work from their parents and society. Young people need time to have a period to do nothing or at least have a vacation. To put it in a nutshell, teenagers may try to work if they want, but definitely not for free.