In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Taking a year off before entering university has become increasingly popular among teenagers in recent years. Both strengths and drawbacks can be seen in this behaviour. Some people may think about the disadvantages. Leaving school for one year without any study or tutorial support exerts negative influences on academic performances. Students may fail in entrance exams to higher or further education institutions. What's more, youths may occur dangers due to lack of social experience, which could not be learnt from textbooks in high schools. For example, the young population tends to be cheated more easily when finding part-time jobs or travelling to strange destinations. However, gap year brings lots of benefits to adolescents as well. Firstly, being a volunteer or experiencing life somewhere outside the hometown are all good to a decent CV or resume. They add more possibility to win the chance of studying in top-class universities and colleges. For instance, outstanding schooling systems like Cambridge University, Oxford University all strongly recommend applicants to equip with abundant social or working experiences. Secondly, staying outside the sweet home for quite a long time is a good way to experiencing different cultures. Young scholars could open their minds and widen horizons, posing fundamental effects on their major or even job choosing in the future. Finally, by being employed and paid, students are able to earn money and pay the tuition and fees to attend universities, which is a relief to their parents and makes higher education more affordable. In conclusion, gapping a year off from school is not a decision easy to make. Its merits and shortcuts should both be considered carefully and advice should be given from parents and teachers to young people.