When a country develops its technology, traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Technology is an important thing in people’s life and it clearly helps us to adapt with the period of development. I disagree with the opinion that, when technology develops in a country, the traditional skills disappear. There are two reasons that I will describe related to this case; traditional skills can combine with technology and traditional skills still have a great position in technological development. On the one hand, traditional skill is the heritage from our ancestors. So we have responsibilities to take care of it. The development of technology has huge advantages for ‘traditional skills ’. Using the technology we can improve these skills and while trying to introduce new innovations to combine technology and traditional skills. For instance, ‘hand art painting’ is one of the traditional skills, people can make a new creation by using technology that uses ‘Photoshop’. The combination between hand art painting and Photoshop software will be a great innovation. People can create great works and earn a lot by doing this. On another hand, although the technology is developing sharply, the traditional skill used products are still having a high position in the marketing field. For example, Indonesian traditional stuff namely ‘Songket’ is still creating great improvement in the sale. In my friend hometown, an industrial Songket factory, at the end of 2014, received orders for 2000 to 3000 pieces of ' songket’ stuff from some countries including the USA, Italy, Japan and Vietnam. It proves that traditional products still stand up till now. To sum up, traditional skills are still alive though technology has increased dramatically. It still has a special place in people’s lives. Also, traditional skills ’ popularity will increase if people try to combine both traditional skills and technology.