The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the conspicuous trends of today’s modern world is a colossal upsurge in obesity in children at an early age which is putting strain on healthcare.A certain group of individuals believe that to deal with this issue introduction of physical education classes is mandatory in the syllabus of the students. I strongly agree with this opinion as physical activity in the form of sports is mandatory and awareness for a healthy diet should also be done. To begin with, not only the modern fast era has made our life comfortable and convenient but it has provided various facilities to make our lifestyle relaxing.There is a deluge of arguments in favour of my stance and the most predominant one is that technology available in the present times has made our life restricted and everything is available on phone ranging from online shopping to food outlets such as Zomato, Swiggy.So, the introduction of physical education lessons in schools and other educational institutions has become the need of time. For instance, a survey conducted by the Indian Institute of Technology,Ranchi, revealed that nowadays young adolescents spend about an average of 10-20 hours on mobile phones weekly which has further contributed to various health-related disorders such as diabetes, hypertension or spondylitis and further due to these diseases burden on hospitals has increased. Secondly,both the public and private organisations should create awareness among the people to consume a healthy and well-balanced diet. Certain rules and regulations should be framed by the governments to decrease the consumption of packaged food products available in supermarkets. For example, a survey conducted by Oxford University revealed that banning packaged food items on the campus could decrease obesity by 13 per cent and it would further encourage the parents of wards to adopt a healthy lifestyle. To conclude, the potential benefits of the introduction of physical education classes in the school curriculum are too many and this would create a positive result on the health of the children and decrease obesity in long term.